Beautification Committee

2021 Winners LEFT
2021 Winners RIGHT


The Beautification Committee is a group of volunteers charged with the coordination and planning of the village's annual Beautification Awards Ceremony held during the month of August. The committee duties include determining the type of awards to be given, observation and identification of properties to be considered for special recognition, selection of properties to determine winners, reporting of winners to the Board of Trustees and hosting the annual awards picnic.

The Beautification Awards are the annual recognition of village residents and property owners that strive to maintain and improve their property and neighborhood. Sponsored by the Village President and Board of Trustees, awards are given to those who have displayed an exceptional effort in landscaping, lawn care, planting, and general maintenance.


The continued success of this committee depends on members who work together toward the common goal of making Richton Park a better place to live and do business. Their hard work and loyalty are greatly appreciated.

Join Us

We are looking for additional members to join this active committee. If you or someone you know would like to join our Beautification Committee, please contact a present committee member or the Village Staff Liaison to have your name placed for recommendation to the committee.

Beautification Committee 2017


First Wednesday of the Month @ 7:00pm Spring/Summer Season

For additional information or to become a member, please contact

Kenneth Jones @


The village is divided into 33 sectors or neighborhoods and the members break up into teams to go through each sector and pick up to ten properties for consideration. Of those ten properties selected, they pick one as deserving the top prize or Blue Ribbon Award. The next four highest scored properties in that sector receive recognition in the White and Red Ribbon Award categories, and the remaining selections for that area receive an Honorable Mention.

Each August, an awards picnic is held for the Blue Ribbon Award winners where they receive a certificate of recognition and a yard plaque. White and Red Ribbon Award winners are mailed a certificate of recognition, while Honorable Mention Award winners receive a letter stating their accomplishment.


  • Yvonne Evans (Chairperson)
  • Warrette Coleman (Vice Chairperson)
  • Crystal Parks (Recording Secretary)
  • Jean Almonord
  • Darnell Langston
  • Oscar Nalls
  • Susan Johnson
  • Cleveland Ware
  • Denise Washington

  • Patricia Webb
  • Alice Wilson
  • Village Liaison:
    • Earnest Walls, Code Enforcement Officer
    • Adam Ray, Media Coordinator